bibliotherapy

by rantywoman

I’ve never been to a therapist but believe there is much insight and solace to be found in books.

Chick lit has, of course, exploded over the last decade, reflecting the massive confusion in women’s lives.  Much of it is not very good though.  During my thirties, these books (nonfiction and fiction) helped me the best in coping with being single and childless:

The Late Bloomer’s Revolution–Amy Cohen

Marrying Anita: A Quest for Love in the New India– Anita Jain

All Over the Map– Laura Fraser

Single State of the Union– Diana Mapes– particularly the essay An Open Letter to Mom, Deana, Mary, and the Folks at Work

Three Wishes: A True Story of Good Friends, Crushing Heartbreak, and Astonishing Luck on Our Way to Love and Motherhood–  Goldberg, Jones, and Ferdinand

In Her Own Sweet Time: One Woman’s Unexpected Adventures in Finding Love, Commitment, and Motherhood– Rachel Lehmann- Haupt

I Loved, I Lost, I Made Spaghetti– Giulia Melucci

Lonely: A Memoir– Emily White

Can’t Think Straight:  A Memoir of Mixed-Up Love– Kiri Blakely

How to Be Single: A Novel– Liz Tuccillo

Accidentally on Purpose: A One-Night Stand, My Unplanned Parenthood, and Loving the Best Mistake I Ever Made– Mary Pols

The Quality of Life Report– Meghan Daum

Girl Walks Into A Bar: A Memoir–Strawberry Saroyan

The Curse of the Singles Table: A True Story of 1001 Nights Without Sex– Suzanne Schlosberg

The Leopard Hat: A Daughter’s Story– Valerie Steiker

Making Love: A Romance–Lucretia Stewart

The Pig and I: How I Learned to Love Men Almost as Much as I Love My Pets–Rachel Toor

But Enough About Me–Jancee Dunn

Lying Together: My Russian Affair–  Jennifer Beth Cohen

The Cigarette Girl: A Novel– Carol Wolper

Now You See Her: A Novel– Whitney Otto

Desperate Women Need to Talk to You– Joan Frank

Venus After Forty– Rita Ransohoff

 

In addition to this list of books, I recommend a DVD series called “Flying: Confessions of a Free Woman” by Jennifer Fox