lifers

by rantywoman

In my thirties, I had friends who refused to jump on the online dating bandwagon and who, although they had been through several relationships in their twenties, seemed to settle into a long-term single state around that time.

I, on the other hand, did a lot of dating from online (and through real-life encounters when I could), so I didn’t envision myself as a long-termer.  I had several short-term relationships as well during that decade, but none of them ever landed on the holidays.

Now here I am, facing my twelfth holiday season alone, and accepting that I have become one of the long-termers, and possibly a lifer.  I’ve used this year to adjust to this reality and am still sitting uneasily with it.  Related post:

http://www.simonegrant.com/blog/2011/05/16/long-term-single/#comments